Gavranovic scored in the 90th minute: France and Switzerland draw 3-3 ⚽️ Will Switzerland enter the Euro 2024 semifinals for the first time?

In the fiery match between Switzerland and France with a score of 3-3, we witnessed a memorable goal from Gavranovic in the 90th minute. This is one of the most exciting quarterfinal matches of the Euro 2020 season. With this result, the question is whether Switzerland will continue to advance to their first Euro 2024 semi-final?

To better understand Switzerland’s ability, let’s look back at the history of the UEFA Euro tournament from 1960 to the present 2024. In 16 tournaments, 10 countries have won. The leading teams are Germany and Spain with 3 wins each. Next are France and Italy with 2 times, followed by the Soviet Union, Czechoslovakia, the Netherlands, Denmark, Greece, and Portugal all with 1 championship.

Switzerland, as a country that has never won the Euro, has a great opportunity to make history. They had an impressive season with three World Cup quarterfinals and Euro 2020 quarterfinals.

Switzerland is currently ranked 19th on the FIFA ranking and has a strong squad. This includes top players like Gregor Kobel, Manuel Akanji, Xherdan Shaqiri, and Granit Xhaka.

Under the leadership of coach Murat Yakin, Switzerland is full of hope and ready to conquer Euro 2024. Let’s wait and see whether Switzerland will continue to make history!

⚽️ UEFA Euro 1960 to 2021 with 16 tournaments and 10 national championships

⏩ Germany 3 times Euro champions (1972 – 1980 – 1996)

⏩ Spain 3 times Euro champions (1964 – 2008 – 2012)

⏩ France 2 times Euro champions (1984 – 2000)

⏩ Italy 2 times Euro champions (1968 – 2020)

⏩ Soviet Union 1 time Euro champion 1960

⏩ Czechoslovakia 1 time Euro champion 1976

⏩ Netherlands 1 time Euro champion 1988

⏩ Denmark 1 time Euro champion 1992

⏩ Greece 1 time Euro champion 2004

⏩ Portugal 1 time Euro champion 2016

Group A – Switzerland

Coach: Murat Yakin

Euro: Quarterfinals (2020)

World Cup: Quarterfinals (1934, 1938, 1954)

FIFA Ranking: 19th (as of February 15, 2024)

Euro 2024 Switzerland current squad: Overview of all players (As of: March 28, 2024)


Gregor Kobel (Borussia Dortmund)

Yvon Mvogo (FC Lorient)

Yann Sommer (Inter Mailand)

David von Ballmoos (BSC Young Boys)


Manuel Akanji (Manchester City)

Eray Cömert (FC Nantes)

Nico Elvedi (Borussia Mönchengladbach)

Kevin Mbabu (FC Augsburg)

Bećir Omeragić (Montpellier HSC)

Ricardo Rodríguez (FC Turin)

Fabian Schär (Newcastle United)

Silvan Widmer (1. FSV Mainz 05)

Cédric Zesiger (VfL Wolfsburg)


Michel Aebischer (FC Bologna)

Uran Bislimi (FC Lugano)

Remo Freuler (FC Bologna)

Ulisses Garcia (Olympique Marseille)

Dereck Kutesa (FC Servette)

Xherdan Shaqiri (Chicago Fire)

Vincent Sierro (FC Toulouse)

Renato Steffen (FC Lugano)

Granit Xhaka (Bayer Leverkusen)

Denis Zakaria (AS Monaco)


Zeki Amdouni (FC Burnley)

Dan Ndoye (FC Bologna)

Noah Okafor (AC Mailand)

Ruben Vargas (FC Augsburg)

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Related Post


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *