Thank you for the miracle: Georgia bows down to the national team after being eliminated from Euro 2024

Georgia expressed gratitude and celebrated as a great victory after participating in Euro 2024, the first time in a continental tournament, where they advanced to the round of 16 and said goodbye last night after losing 1-4 to Spain. “Thank you for Georgia’s miracle”, the country’s government stated in a statement about the national team’s participation in Euro.

Kvaratskhelia, excited, after defeating Diogo Costa
Kvaratskhelia, excited, after defeating Diogo Costa

Despite the defeat to Spain, Tbilisi held fireworks and their television tower was lit in red and white, the national colors, to celebrate the team. “Our dream has come true: we have reached the knockout round, participating in such a tournament for the first time”, Khvicha Kvaratskhelia, Napoli’s winger, told One of public television after the match with Spain. He admitted that the Georgian players “lacked experience”, but stressed that the team’s performance in Germany showed that “they deserved to participate in this type of tournament”.

Tbilisi’s mayor, former Milan’s defender and former captain of the Georgian team, Kakha Kaladze, thanked the players “for the joy they brought to Georgian fans”. “Georgia proved that they are a worthy opponent. The world has seen us as a country that fights to the end for victory and we have many more victories ahead!”, he affirmed.

Georgia’s football coach Giorgi Chiabrishvili, who analyzed Georgia’s matches at Euro 2024 for public television as an expert, confirmed that “the whole football world has seen a worthy performance of Georgians”. “However, playing against Spain is like playing in a different weight class”, Chiabrishvili said, adding that, despite the defeat last night, “the Georgian team has reason to hope for success in the future”.

⚽️ UEFA Euro 1960 to 2021 with 16 tournaments and 10 national champions

⏩ Germany won the Euro 3 times (1972 – 1980 – 1996)

⏩ Spain won the Euro 3 times (1964 – 2008 – 2012)

⏩ France won the Euro 2 times (1984 – 2000)

⏩ Italy won the Euro 2 times (1968 – 2020)

⏩ Soviet Union won the Euro once in 1960

⏩ Czechoslovakia won the Euro once in 1976

⏩ Netherlands won the Euro once in 1988

⏩ Denmark won the Euro once in 1992

⏩ Greece won the Euro once in 2004

⏩ Portugal won the Euro once in 2016

With the participation of the strongest European teams according to the FIFA ranking on February 15, 2024 such as France (2nd) – England (3rd) – Belgium (4th) – Netherlands (6th) – Portugal (7th) – Spain (8th) – Italy (9th) – Croatia (10th) and bright stars like Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappé, Harry Kane, Romelu Lukaku to promising young talents, Euro 2024 promises to deliver top-level and dramatic matches.

EURO 2024 will take place in Germany from June 14 to July 14, 2024 in 10 cities in Germany with 24 participating teams. The teams are divided into 6 groups to select the first and second teams in each group, and the 4 third-placed teams with the best performance to get a ticket to the knock-out round. The opening match is scheduled for June 14 between host Germany and Scotland.

⚽️ Detailed EURO 2024 match groups:

⚽️ Group A: Germany, Scotland, Hungary, Switzerland

⚽️ Group B: Spain, Croatia, Italy, Albania

⚽️ Group C: England, Denmark, Serbia, Slovenia

⚽️ Group D: Poland, France, Netherlands, Austria

⚽️ Group E: Slovakia, Romania, Belgium, Ukraine

⚽️ Group F: Portugal, Turkey, Czech Republic, Georgia

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Related Post


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *