Guler scores a masterpiece, securing 3 points for Turkey

The match between Turkey and Georgia was one of the most exciting matches in the first round of EURO 2024. Eventually, the more superior team won.

Guler scores a masterpiece, securing 3 points for Turkey

Turkey scorers: Muldur (25′), Guler (65′), Akturkoglu (90’+7) Georgia: Mikautadze (32′)

Right-back Mert Muldur scored the opening goal for Turkey in the 25th minute with a beautiful volley into the top corner, leaving Georgian goalkeeper Giorgi Mamardashvili with no chance.

However, just 7 minutes later, Georges Mikautadze scored Georgia’s first goal in a major tournament, cleverly heading the ball from Giorgi Kochorashvili’s cross into the Turkish net.

In the 65th minute, 19-year-old striker Arda Guler of Real Madrid became the third-youngest player to score on his EURO debut with a classy long-range shot, the ball making a dangerous curve into the top corner from 25m out.

Georgia, in their first-ever EURO appearance, fought bravely and nearly equalised for the second time. The pupils of coach Willy Sagnol played with great effort and technique, unfortunately, Kochorashvili missed a great opportunity.

The final moments of the match were tense, Georgia even hit the post and had a shot blocked right on the goal line in the 5th minute of stoppage time.

However, Turkey secured a dramatic victory in the final seconds. Substitute Kerem Akturkoglu broke free to receive a long pass, calmly handled the situation and gently put the ball into an empty net.

Dortmund’s Signal Iduna Park stadium, usually known as the “Yellow Wall”, turned into the “Red Wall” when Turkish fans celebrated fervently after the crucial victory that earned 3 points.

Turkey will aim for a second consecutive victory when they face Portugal next Saturday in Group F, while Georgia will face the Czech Republic.


Turkey: Gunok, Ayhan (Demiral 79′), Bardakci, Akaydin, Muldur (Çelik 85′), Çalhanoğlu (Özcan 90′), Kadıoğlu, Kokcu, Guler (Yazıcı 79′), Yilmaz, Yildiz (Aktürkoğlu 85′)

Georgia: Mamardashvili, Kashia, Kverkvelia (Zivzivadze 85′), Kakabadze, Dvali, Kochorashvili, Tsitaishvili (Lochoshvili 74′), Chakvetadze (Davitashvili 74′), Kvaratskhelia, Mekvabishvili (Altunashvili 89′), Mikautadze

⚽️ UEFA Euro 1960 to 2021 with 16 tournaments and 10 national champions

⏩ Germany won the Euro 3 times (1972 – 1980 – 1996)

⏩ Spain won the Euro 3 times (1964 – 2008 – 2012)

⏩ France won the Euro 2 times (1984 – 2000)

⏩ Italy won the Euro 2 times (1968 – 2020)

⏩ Soviet Union won the Euro once in 1960

⏩ Czechoslovakia won the Euro once in 1976

⏩ Netherlands won the Euro once in 1988

⏩ Denmark won the Euro once in 1992

⏩ Greece won the Euro once in 2004

⏩ Portugal won the Euro once in 2016

With the participation of the strongest European teams according to the FIFA ranking on February 15, 2024 such as France (2nd) – England (3rd) – Belgium (4th) – Netherlands (6th) – Portugal (7th) – Spain (8th) – Italy (9th) – Croatia (10th) and bright stars like Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappé, Harry Kane, Romelu Lukaku to promising young talents, Euro 2024 promises to deliver top-level and dramatic matches.

EURO 2024 will take place in Germany from June 14 to July 14, 2024 in 10 cities in Germany with 24 participating teams. The teams are divided into 6 groups to select the first and second teams in each group, and the 4 third-placed teams with the best performance to get a ticket to the knock-out round. The opening match is scheduled for June 14 between host Germany and Scotland.

⚽️ Detailed EURO 2024 match groups:

⚽️ Group A: Germany, Scotland, Hungary, Switzerland

⚽️ Group B: Spain, Croatia, Italy, Albania

⚽️ Group C: England, Denmark, Serbia, Slovenia

⚽️ Group D: Poland, France, Netherlands, Austria

⚽️ Group E: Slovakia, Romania, Belgium, Ukraine

⚽️ Group F: Portugal, Turkey, Czech Republic, Georgia

(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)

Related Post


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *