Italy 1-1 England 2020 (3-2 on penalties) Euro 2016 final, winning their second championship

The UEFA Euro 2020 final between Italy and England marked a milestone in football history. This was not just a clash between two football superpowers, but also a confrontation between two cultures, two histories.

The match took place at Wembley Stadium, which holds countless sports memories. In the face of the enthusiasm of thousands of supporters, both Italy and England teams contributed to a thrilling and emotional game for the audience. The match ended with a 1-1 draw after 120 tense minutes, forcing both teams to settle the face-off with a nerve-wracking penalty shootout.

In the end, Italy emerged as the European champions for the second time in history, after overcoming England with a score of 3-2 in the penalty shootout. This victory not only marked a new chapter in Italy’s football history but also showcased the strength and persistence of the Azzurri players. With this title, Italy entered the top 4 teams with the most European championship titles, equal with France and only one title less than Spain and Germany.

However, the final left many unhappy aftermaths. England players (Marcus Rashford, Jadon Sancho, and Bukayo Saka) faced racial discrimination after failing in the penalty shootout, sparking much controversy. This reminded us that, while football can create thrilling and emotional matches, respect for each other is still necessary.

In the end, win or lose, each team has left their mark in the hearts of fans. The Euro 2020 final between Italy and England will surely be remembered as a symbol of passion, strength, and sportsmanship.

⚽️ UEFA Euro 1960 to 2021 with 16 tournaments and 10 champion countries

⏩ Germany won the Euro 3 times (1972 – 1980 – 1996)

⏩ Spain won the Euro 3 times (1964 – 2008 – 2012)

⏩ France won the Euro 2 times (1984 – 2000)

⏩ Italy won the Euro 2 times (1968 – 2020)

⏩ Soviet Union won the Euro once in 1960

⏩ Czechoslovakia won the Euro once in 1976

⏩ Netherlands won the Euro once in 1988

⏩ Denmark won the Euro once in 1992

⏩ Greece won the Euro once in 2004

⏩ Portugal won the Euro once in 2016

With the participation of the strongest European teams according to the FIFA rankings as of 15/02/2024 such as France (2) – England (3) – Belgium (4) – Netherlands (6) – Portugal (7) – Spain (8) – Italy (9) – Croatia (10) and shining stars like Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappé, Harry Kane, Romelu Lukaku to promising young talents, Euro 2024 promises to bring top-notch and thrilling matches.

EURO 2024 will take place in Germany from 14/6 to 14/7/2024 in 10 cities in Germany with 24 participating teams. The teams are divided into 6 groups to select the first and second teams in each group, and the 4 third-placed teams with the best performance earn a ticket to the knock-out round. The opening match is organized on 14/6 between host Germany and Scotland.

The detailed EURO 2024 groups:

⚽️ Group A: Germany, Scotland, Hungary, Switzerland

⚽️ Group B: Spain, Croatia, Italy, Albania

⚽️ Group C: England, Denmark, Serbia, Slovenia

⚽️ Group D: Poland, France, Netherlands, Austria

⚽️ Group E: Slovakia, Romania, Belgium, Ukraine

⚽️ Group F: Portugal, Turkey, Czech Republic, Georgia

(Visited 28 times, 1 visits today)

Related Post


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *