Greece won 1-0 against Portugal in the Euro 2004 final and became the champion for the first time.

In the history of European football, very few finals have created as much excitement and curiosity as the UEFA Euro 2004 final between Portugal and Greece. This is a match that football fans will always remember, not only because of the unexpected result, but also because of the effort and fighting spirit of both teams.

Greece, a team considered an outsider in the tournament, created a huge shock by defeating the host Portugal 1-0 in the final to win Euro 2004 for the first time. This is considered the greatest victory in the history of Greek football, and even those who are not fans of this team must acknowledge this success.

Portugal, with a strong lineup including talented players like Cristiano Ronaldo, Deco, and Maniche, did everything they could to win. However, they could not defeat Greece’s solid defense, along with the brilliance of goalkeeper Antonios Nikopolidis and the only goal of Angelos Charisteas.

The Greek team has proven that, with perseverance, focus, and team spirit, they can defeat any opponent, including strong opponents like Portugal.

With this victory, Greece has written a fairy tale in football history, a story that football fans around the world will never forget.

⚽️ UEFA Euro from 1960 to 2021 with 16 tournaments and 10 champion countries

⏩ Germany won the Euro 3 times (1972 – 1980 – 1996)

⏩ Spain won the Euro 3 times (1964 – 2008 – 2012)

⏩ France won the Euro 2 times (1984 – 2000)

⏩ Italy won the Euro 2 times (1968 – 2020)

⏩ The Soviet Union won the Euro 1960 once

⏩ Czechoslovakia won the Euro 1976 once

⏩ Netherlands won the Euro 1988 once

⏩ Denmark won the Euro 1992 once

⏩ Greece won the Euro 2004 once

⏩ Portugal won the Euro 2016 once

With the participation of the strongest European teams according to the FIFA rankings as of 15/02/2024 such as France (2) – England (3) – Belgium (4) – Netherlands (6) – Portugal (7) – Spain (8) – Italy (9) – Croatia (10) and shining stars like Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappé, Harry Kane, Romelu Lukaku to promising young talents, Euro 2024 promises to bring high-level and dramatic matches.

EURO 2024 will take place in Germany from June 14 to July 14, 2024 in 10 cities in Germany with 24 participating teams. The teams are divided into 6 groups to select the top 12 teams, and the 4 teams ranked third with the best performance get a ticket to the knockout round. The opening match will be held on June 14 between the host Germany and Scotland.

Detailed EURO 2024 groups:

⚽️ Group A: Germany, Scotland, Hungary, Switzerland

⚽️ Group B: Spain, Croatia, Italy, Albania

⚽️ Group C: England, Denmark, Serbia, Slovenia

⚽️ Group D: Poland, France, Netherlands, Austria

⚽️ Group E: Slovakia, Romania, Belgium, Ukraine

⚽️ Group F: Portugal, Turkey, Czech Republic, Georgia

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Related Post


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *