Germany convincingly won the Euro 1996 final 2-1 against the Czech Republic, becoming champions for the third time.

The Euro 1996 final has left a deep impression on football fans, not only because of the result, but also because of the memorable moments it brought. The Czech Republic, a team not highly rated, showed amazing determination and fighting spirit, captivating the spectators.

Before the match, the Czech Republic had overcome Portugal and France in the knockout stages, while Germany had beaten Croatia and England. Both teams had fought fiercely to get to the final, and no one could predict the outcome. Both had proved that they deserve this position, and the final did not disappoint the fans.

The final took place in front of over 73,000 spectators, and they witnessed a dramatic match. Both teams had chances to score, but no one could take advantage. In the 58th minute, the Czech Republic was awarded a penalty. Poborský was fouled by Sammer, and Berger did not miss the opportunity, scoring the opening goal.

However, Germany did not submit. In the 73rd minute, Bierhoff, who had just entered the field in the second half, scored the equalizing goal for Germany with a header after a pass from Ziege. The score after 90 minutes was 1–1, forcing the match into extra time.

The extra time started with the golden goal rule: the first team to score a goal would win. In the 95th minute, Klinsmann passed the ball to Bierhoff, who turned and scored the golden goal, giving Germany a 2-1 victory and their third European championship.

The Euro 1996 final has left a deep impression on football fans with its memorable moments and drama. It demonstrated the determination and fighting spirit of both teams and has become an important part of European football history.

UEFA Euro 1960 to 2021 with 16 tournaments and 10 champion countries

Germany 3 times Euro champions (1972 – 1980 – 1996)

Spain 3 times Euro champions (1964 – 2008 – 2012)

France 2 times Euro champions (1984 – 2000)

Italy 2 times Euro champions (1968 – 2020)

Soviet Union 1 time Euro champion 1960

Czechoslovakia 1 time Euro champion 1976

Netherlands 1 time Euro champion 1988

Denmark 1 time Euro champion 1992

Greece 1 time Euro champion 2004

Portugal 1 time Euro champion 2016

With the participation of the strongest European teams according to the FIFA rankings as of 15/02/2024 such as France (2) – England (3) – Belgium (4) – Netherlands (6) – Portugal (7) – Spain (8) – Italy (9) – Croatia (10) and shining stars like Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappé, Harry Kane, Romelu Lukaku to promising young talents, Euro 2024 promises to bring high-level and dramatic matches.

EURO 2024 will take place in Germany from 14/6 to 14/7/2024 in 10 cities in Germany with 24 participating teams. The teams are divided into 6 groups to select the top 12 teams, and the 4 third-place teams with the best performance get a ticket to the knockout round. The opening match is held on 14/6 between Germany and Scotland.

Detailed EURO 2024 groups:

Group A: Germany, Scotland, Hungary, Switzerland

Group B: Spain, Croatia, Italy, Albania

Group C: England, Denmark, Serbia, Slovenia

Group D: Poland, France, Netherlands, Austria

Group E: Slovakia, Romania, Belgium, Ukraine

Group F: Portugal, Turkey, Czech Republic, Georgia

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Related Post


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *