France 2-0 Spain Euro1984 final: The historic moment France won its first championship

The Euro 1984 final between France and Spain was tense until the last minute. Both teams fought fiercely, but the home team France shone brighter thanks to the talent of Michel Platini, Bruno Bellone and their teammates.

Platini, the brightest star of the match, opened the scoring for France in the 57th minute with a classy free kick. Despite Spain’s goalkeeper Arconada touching the ball, the power and spin of the shot made it impossible for him to block. This goal made the whole Parc des Princes stadium “explode” in joy.

However, the drama did not stop there. With only 5 minutes left in the match, France’s defender Yvon Le Roux was sent off after receiving 2 yellow cards. This put France in a difficult position, but they still staunchly protected their slender lead.

And then, in the final seconds, the talented midfielder Jean Tigana made a “magical” pass to Bruno Bellone who ran down to face Arconada. Bellone coolly increased the score to 2-0, “sealing” the victory for France. Joy burst out on the streets of France after the final whistle.

After the match, France’s coach Michel Hidalgo could not hide his emotion: “We have made history. I am proud of the players, of their team spirit and their fighting spirit. This is a victory for the whole of France.”

Meanwhile, Spain’s midfielder Víctor Muñoz admitted: “France deserved to win. They have excellent individuals and played very well as a team. We tried our best, but today was France’s day.”

Statistics show that France had the upper hand with 16 shots compared to Spain’s 9, of which 7 were on target compared to 5. France also dominated ball possession with 56%, showing their dominance on the field.

The 2-0 victory over Spain not only brought the first Euro championship to France, but also marked a great turning point for French football. The golden generation of 1984 inspired the following generations to win the 1998 World Cup and Euro 2000. That day, on the historic Parc des Princes pitch, heroes like Platini, Tigana, Giresse became immortal in the hearts of fans.

UEFA Euro 1960 to 2021 with 16 tournaments and 10 national champions

Germany won the Euro 3 times ( 1972 – 1980 – 1996 )

Spain won the Euro 3 times ( 1964 – 2008 – 2012 )

France won the Euro 2 times ( 1984 – 2000 )

Italy won the Euro 2 times ( 1968 – 2020 )

Soviet Union won the Euro once in 1960

Czechoslovakia won the Euro once in 1976

Netherlands won the Euro once in 1988

Denmark won the Euro once in 1992

Greece won the Euro once in 2004

Portugal won the Euro once in 2016

With the participation of the strongest European teams according to FIFA ranking on 15/02/2024 such as France (2) – England (3) – Belgium (4) – Netherlands (6) – Portugal (7) – Spain (8) – Italy (9) – Croatia (10) and bright stars like Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappé, Harry Kane, Romelu Lukaku to promising young talents, Euro 2024 promises to deliver top-notch and dramatic matches.

EURO 2024 will take place in Germany from 14/6 to 14/7/2024 in 10 cities in Germany with 24 participating teams. The teams are divided into 6 groups to choose the first and second place in each group, and the 4 best third-placed teams to advance to the knock-out stage. The opening match will take place on 14/6 between host Germany and Scotland.

Detailed EURO 2024 groups:

Group A: Germany, Scotland, Hungary, Switzerland

Group B: Spain, Croatia, Italy, Albania

Group C: England, Denmark, Serbia, Slovenia

Group D: Poland, France, Netherlands, Austria

Group E: Slovakia, Romania, Belgium, Ukraine

Group F: Portugal, Turkey, Czech Republic, Georgia

Topics: France, Spain, Michel Platini, Luis Arconada, Jean Tigana, Bruno Bellone, Michel Hidalgo, Euro 1984

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Related Post


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *