Niclas Füllkrug and Germany’s choices for Euro 2024 number 9: Who will lead the attack?

With the absence of a true striker, head coach Julian Nagelsmann faces many options for Germany’s central forward position at the home Euro 2024. Can Niclas Füllkrug shine, or will another surprise name step up?

Niclas Füllkrug is the leading candidate for Germany’s number 9 position at Euro 2024 after impressive performances for Borussia Dortmund this season. With a strong style of play, ability to dribble, and goal-scoring instinct, the 31-year-old forward Füllkrug has scored 27 goals in his last 50 matches for Werder Bremen and Dortmund. Niclas Füllkrug also boasts an impressive scoring rate for the German national team.

However, Nagelsmann still has many notable backup options. Thomas Müller, despite being 34, is still a legend with extensive experience. Bayern Munich forward Thomas Müller has made 126 appearances for Germany, scoring 45 goals and providing 40 assists. Can he put aside his disagreements with Nagelsmann from his time at Bayern to contribute to the German national team?

Meanwhile, Deniz Undav is having a breakthrough season at Stuttgart. Although he has never represented Germany at any level, the 28-year-old striker Deniz Undav has scored 14 goals in his first 20 Bundesliga matches and is making Nagelsmann think.

In addition, young forward Maximilian Beier of Hoffenheim is also impressing with 12 goals in 24 Bundesliga rounds. Can Maximilian Beier cause a surprise?

The race for Germany’s number 9 position at Euro 2024 is extremely exciting. Let’s wait and see who Nagelsmann will choose to lead the attack on the journey to conquer the throne at home.

UEFA Euro 1960 to 2021 with 16 tournaments and 10 champion countries

Germany 3-time Euro champions (1972 – 1980 – 1996)

Spain 3-time Euro champions (1964 – 2008 – 2012)

France 2-time Euro champions (1984 – 2000)

Italy 2-time Euro champions (1968 – 2020)

Soviet Union Euro champions 1960

Czechoslovakia Euro champions 1976

Netherlands Euro champions 1988

Denmark Euro champions 1992

Greece Euro champions 2004

Portugal Euro champions 2016

Group A – Germany

Head coach: Julian Nagelsmann

Euro (best result): 3-time champions (1972, 1980, 1996)

World Cup (best result): 4-time champions (1954, 1974, 1990, 2014)

FIFA ranking: 16th (as of February 15, 2024)

Germany’s Euro 2024 squad: players and clubs (As of: March 28, 2024)


Oliver Baumann (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim)

Bernd Leno (Fulham FC)

Marc-André ter Stegen (FC Barcelona)


Waldemar Anton (VfB Stuttgart)

Benjamin Henrichs (RB Leipzig)

Robin Koch (Eintracht Frankfurt)

Maximilian Mittelstädt (VfB Stuttgart)

David Raum (RB Leipzig)

Antonio Rudiger (Real Madrid)

Jonathan Tah (Bayer Leverkusen)


Robert Andrich (Bayer Leverkusen)

Pascal Gross (Brighton & Hove Albion)

Ilkay Gundogan (FC Barcelona)

Kai Havertz (Arsenal FC)

Joshua Kimmich (FC Bayern Munich)

Toni Kroos (Real Madrid)

Jamal Musiala (FC Bayern Munich)

Florian Wirtz (Bayer Leverkusen)


Maximilian Beier (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim)

Chris Führich (VfB Stuttgart)

Niclas Füllkrug (Borussia Dortmund)

Thomas Muller (FC Bayern Munich)

Deniz Undav (VfB Stuttgart)

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Related Post


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *