USSR 2-1 Yugoslavia: The Soviet Union won the EURO 1960 championship in a thrilling final

The Soviet Union team defeated Yugoslavia with a score of 2-1 in a thrilling and dramatic EURO 1960 final. Viktor Ponedelnik’s decisive goal in the 113th minute brought the first European championship to the Soviet Union.

In a breath-taking final at the Parc des Princes stadium in Paris, the Soviet Union claimed a 2-1 victory over Yugoslavia to win the EURO 1960 championship. Milan Galić gave Yugoslavia the lead just before half-time, but Slava Metreveli equalized for the Soviet Union after the break. The match went into extra time and seemed to be heading for a replay, until 23-year-old striker Viktor Ponedelnik scored the decisive goal in the 113th minute, bringing the first European gold cup to the Soviet Union.

Ponedelnik told “The Soviet Union team became the first European champions. No one can forget such glorious moments. For me, the goal in the 113th minute was the most important goal of my career. It was the star moment of my life.”

Legendary goalkeeper Lev Yashin also played a key role in the Soviet Union’s victory with his excellent saves, helping the team withstand Yugoslavia’s pressure. Team captain Igor Netto, who led the Soviet Union to Olympic gold in 1956, also performed impressively in midfield.

This historic victory marked an important turning point for Soviet football, proving they were a leading sports powerhouse in the world.

Midfielder Igor Chislenko recalls: “The victory at EURO 1960 was a dream come true for all of us. It was the culmination of many years of labor and dedication and a moment we will never forget.”

The 1960 European Championship ushered in an era of Soviet football dominance that lasted until the dissolution of the Soviet Union in 1991. This achievement is still considered one of the greatest milestones in the country’s sports history.

UEFA Euro 1960 to 2021 with 16 tournaments and 10 champion countries

Germany won the Euro three times (1972 – 1980 – 1996)

Spain won the Euro three times (1964 – 2008 – 2012)

France won the Euro twice (1984 – 2000)

Italy won the Euro twice (1968 – 2020)

Soviet Union won the Euro once in 1960

Czechoslovakia won the Euro once in 1976

Netherlands won the Euro once in 1988

Denmark won the Euro once in 1992

Greece won the Euro once in 2004

Portugal won the Euro once in 2016

With the participation of the strongest European teams according to the FIFA rankings as of 15/02/2024 such as France (2) – England (3) – Belgium (4) – Netherlands (6) – Portugal (7) – Spain (8) – Italy (9) – Croatia (10) and bright stars like Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappé, Harry Kane, Romelu Lukaku to promising young talents, Euro 2024 promises to bring high-quality and thrilling matches.

EURO 2024 will take place in Germany from 14/6 to 14/7/2024 in 10 cities in Germany with 24 participating teams. The teams are divided into 6 groups to select the top two teams in each group, and the 4 best third-placed teams to enter the knockout stage. The opening match is organized on 14/6 between host Germany and Scotland.

Detailed EURO 2024 groups:

Group A: Germany, Scotland, Hungary, Switzerland

Group B: Spain, Croatia, Italy, Albania

Group C: England, Denmark, Serbia, Slovenia

Group D: Poland, France, Netherlands, Austria

Group E: Slovakia, Romania, Belgium, Ukraine

Group F: Portugal, Turkey, Czech Republic, Georgia

Topics: Soviet Union, Yugoslavia, Viktor Ponedelnik, Lev Yashin, Igor Netto, Slava Metreveli, Milan Galić, EURO 1960

(Visited 5 times, 1 visits today)

Related Post


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *