A significant stride forward in implementing new referee rules at Euro 2024

The opening match of Euro 2024, Germany 5-1 Scotland, proved that UEFA’s new regulations limiting referee discussions to only team captains have had a significant effect. The German and Scottish players not only made efforts to comply with this new rule but also showed good adaptation to it.

Their caution in approaching the referee minimized unnecessary on-field disputes, creating a more respectful and professional game atmosphere. This not only made it easier for the referee to control the match but also improved the image of football in the face of a recent wave of referee criticism.

In particular, in situations where the referee had to make crucial decisions, the players complied with the rule and didn’t interfere with the referee’s decision. This was clearly demonstrated by the fact that only the team captains were allowed to approach and converse with the referee.

In the 42nd minute, Turpin also had to consult VAR about a possible penalty for Porteous’ foul on Gündogan. The French player pointed to the penalty spot and dismissed the Scottish player, who accepted it without much dispute with the referee.

In the second half, Rüdiger and McGuinn jostled in a set-piece situation. Both requested the referee to monitor the opponent’s movements, but they did so very cautiously and without causing a big fuss.

As a result, the match proceeded smoothly with few disputes and interruptions. This not only made it easier for the referee to control and manage the match but also helped enhance the image and credibility of football in the public eye, particularly in the context of increasing refereeing criticism.

In general, this change has marked a significant step forward in improving the game process and providing a fairer and more professional playing environment. It also opens up a new path for football, where respect and professionalism are prioritized.

⚽️ UEFA Euro 1960 to 2021 with 16 tournaments and 10 national champions

⏩ Germany won the Euro 3 times (1972 – 1980 – 1996)

⏩ Spain won the Euro 3 times (1964 – 2008 – 2012)

⏩ France won the Euro 2 times (1984 – 2000)

⏩ Italy won the Euro 2 times (1968 – 2020)

⏩ Soviet Union won the Euro once in 1960

⏩ Czechoslovakia won the Euro once in 1976

⏩ Netherlands won the Euro once in 1988

⏩ Denmark won the Euro once in 1992

⏩ Greece won the Euro once in 2004

⏩ Portugal won the Euro once in 2016

With the participation of the strongest European teams according to the FIFA ranking on February 15, 2024 such as France (2nd) – England (3rd) – Belgium (4th) – Netherlands (6th) – Portugal (7th) – Spain (8th) – Italy (9th) – Croatia (10th) and bright stars like Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappé, Harry Kane, Romelu Lukaku to promising young talents, Euro 2024 promises to deliver top-level and dramatic matches.

EURO 2024 will take place in Germany from June 14 to July 14, 2024 in 10 cities in Germany with 24 participating teams. The teams are divided into 6 groups to select the first and second teams in each group, and the 4 third-placed teams with the best performance to get a ticket to the knock-out round. The opening match is scheduled for June 14 between host Germany and Scotland.

⚽️ Detailed EURO 2024 match groups:

⚽️ Group A: Germany, Scotland, Hungary, Switzerland

⚽️ Group B: Spain, Croatia, Italy, Albania

⚽️ Group C: England, Denmark, Serbia, Slovenia

⚽️ Group D: Poland, France, Netherlands, Austria

⚽️ Group E: Slovakia, Romania, Belgium, Ukraine

⚽️ Group F: Portugal, Turkey, Czech Republic, Georgia

(Visited 3 times, 1 visits today)

Related Post


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *