Denmark Euro 2024 Squad: Christian Eriksen and Rasmus Hojlund aim for their second European championship

Denmark has qualified for the UEFA Euro Championship for the second time in a row after 20 years. The tin soldiers have reached Euro 2024 by topping Group H in the qualifiers.

Denmark will aim to cause another surprise after winning the tournament in 1992. But who’s in their Euro 2024 squad?

Denmark will aim to fully utilize their ability to get through the UEFA European Championship qualifiers for the first time in 20 years.

The Danish national team reached the semi-finals of Euro 2020 and will seek an improved performance after being knocked out in the group stage at the 2022 World Cup under head coach Kasper Hjulmand.

Denmark advanced through the qualifiers by topping Group H – along with Slovenia, Serbia and England in the final tournament.

Star player Christian Eriksen remains Denmark’s most imaginative player. Likely to have surpassed Peter Schmeichel to become Denmark’s second most capped player since the tournament began, this talented midfielder has also scored nearly as many goals as the rest of the team combined. However, the 32-year-old’s club form has been poor – could Denmark perform better without him?

The final 26-member squad appointed by coach Kasper Hjulmand for Euro 2024…


Andreas Hansen, yet to be called up, has temporarily replaced Kasper Schmeichel in the team, but the latter is in the final list.

With Frederik Ronnow as the second-choice goalkeeper, Mads Hermansen’s international debut at the Euro looks promising as the Leicester City player came off the bench in most of the qualifiers.

The 3 goalkeepers include: Frederik Ronnow (Union Berlin), Kasper Schmeichel (Anderlecht), Mads Hermansen (Leicester)


Hjulmand has continually rotated his backline, with each defender getting playing time during their qualifying campaign.

People like Simon Kjaer, Joakim Maehle, Joachim Anderson and Victor Kristiansen have started the most and are likely to continue to do so.

Andres Christensen from Barcelona and Alexander Bah from Benfica are no longer fit, and their participation has cost Jacob Rasmussen and Mads Roeslev.

The 9 defenders include: Alexander Bah (Benfica), Andreas Christensen (Barcelona), Joakim Maehle (VfL Wolfsburg), Jannik Vestergaard (Leicester City), Joachim Andersen (Crystal Palace), Rasmus Kristensen (Roma), Simon Kjaer (AC Milan), Victor Kristiansen (Bologna), Victor Nelsson (Galatasaray)


The midfield is expected to revolve around Tottenham Hotspur’s Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg.

Christian Eriksen was among those who withdrew from the squad ahead of the November qualifiers last year but has returned to the team despite falling down the pecking order at Manchester United.

Names like Mathias Jensen, Morten Hjulmand and Thomas Delaney have been dropped, while Matt O’Riley and Lazio’s Gustav Isaksen have been ruled out.

The 6 midfielders include: Christian Eriksen (Manchester United), Mathias Jensen (Brentford), Mikkel Damsgaard (Brentford), Morten Hjulmand (Sporting CP), Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg (Tottenham Hotspur), Thomas Delaney (Anderlecht)


Rasmus Hojlund of Manchester United has sought to silence critics after a slow start in the Premier League, with VfL Wolfsburg striker Jonas Wind also included in the final list.

Similarly, Anders Dreyer’s excellent performance in the Belgian Pro League has earned the Anderlecht player a call-up to the national team along with club teammate Kasper Dolberg.

Yussuf Poulsen and Jacob Brunn Larsen complete Hjulmand’s offensive options, while Mohamed Daramy from Reims is injured.

The 8 forwards include: Kasper Dolberg (Anderlecht), Andreas Skov Olsen (Club Brugge), Jonas Wind (Wolfsburg), Mikkel Damsgaard (Brentford), Rasmus Hojlund (Manchester United) with 15 goals and 2 assists in 36 matches, Jacob Bruun Larsen (Hoffenheim), Anders Dreyer (Anderlecht), Yussuf Poulsen (RB Leipizg) with 5 goals and 3 assists in 35 matches

Expected lineup with formation (4-3-3)

Hjulmand recently mostly chooses a 4-3-3 formation. Kasper Schmeichel will start from goal, with center-back pair Simon Kjaer and Jannik Vestergaard. Elias Jelert may advance at right-back, with Victor Kristiansen on the other side.

The midfield is likely to include Morten Hjulmand, Pierre-Emile Hojberg and Mathias Jensen, while Rasmus Hojlund is supported by Anders Dreyer and Mikkel Damsgaard on the front line.

Expected Denmark line-up (4-3-3): Ronnow, Jelert, Kjaer, Vestergaard, Kristiansen; Hjulmand, Hojberg, Jensen; Dreyer, Hojlund, Damsgaard

With the current lineup Denmark has 2 wins, 1 draw, and 3 recent matches:

March 23, 2024: Denmark 0–0 Switzerland, Parken Stadium, Copenhagen, Denmark

March 26, 2024: Denmark 2-0 Faroe Islands, Brondby Stadium, Brondby, Denmark

June 5, 2024: Denmark 2-1 Sweden, Parken Stadium, Copenhagen, Denmark

Denmark’s Euro 2024 Group C schedule

June 16: Slovenia vs Denmark (at 23:00 at Mercedes-Benz Arena, Stuttgart)

June 20: Denmark vs England (at 23:00 at Deutsche Bank Park, Frankfurt)

June 26: Denmark vs Serbia (at 02:00 at Allianz Arena, Munich)

⚽️ UEFA Euro 1960 to 2021 with 16 tournaments and 10 national champions

⏩ Germany won the Euro 3 times (1972 – 1980 – 1996)

⏩ Spain won the Euro 3 times (1964 – 2008 – 2012)

⏩ France won the Euro 2 times (1984 – 2000)

⏩ Italy won the Euro 2 times (1968 – 2020)

⏩ Soviet Union won the Euro once in 1960

⏩ Czechoslovakia won the Euro once in 1976

⏩ Netherlands won the Euro once in 1988

⏩ Denmark won the Euro once in 1992

⏩ Greece won the Euro once in 2004

⏩ Portugal won the Euro once in 2016

With the participation of the strongest European teams according to the FIFA ranking on February 15, 2024 such as France (2nd) – England (3rd) – Belgium (4th) – Netherlands (6th) – Portugal (7th) – Spain (8th) – Italy (9th) – Croatia (10th) and bright stars like Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappé, Harry Kane, Romelu Lukaku to promising young talents, Euro 2024 promises to deliver top-level and dramatic matches.

EURO 2024 will take place in Germany from June 14 to July 14, 2024 in 10 cities in Germany with 24 participating teams. The teams are divided into 6 groups to select the first and second teams in each group, and the 4 third-placed teams with the best performance to get a ticket to the knock-out round. The opening match is scheduled for June 14 between host Germany and Scotland.

⚽️ Detailed EURO 2024 match groups:

⚽️ Group A: Germany, Scotland, Hungary, Switzerland

⚽️ Group B: Spain, Croatia, Italy, Albania

⚽️ Group C: England, Denmark, Serbia, Slovenia

⚽️ Group D: Poland, France, Netherlands, Austria

⚽️ Group E: Slovakia, Romania, Belgium, Ukraine

⚽️ Group F: Portugal, Turkey, Czech Republic, Georgia

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

About The Author

Related Post


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *