Manuel Gräfe Criticizes Selection of German Referees for Euro 2024

Former top German referee, Manuel Gräfe, has publicly criticized the appointment of referees Daniel Siebert and Felix Zwayer for the upcoming European Championship. He argues that the decision lacks competitiveness and is based on personal and regional factors.

Manuel Gräfe, a former top referee in Germany, caused a stir when he publicly “fired” at the decision to appoint Daniel Siebert and Felix Zwayer as the main referees for Euro 2024. In a post on X (formerly Twitter), Gräfe sharply criticized Lutz Michael Fröhlich, Head of the Referee Board, for favoring certain referees based on personal and regional factors rather than actual ability.

The spirit of fair competition has disappeared, Gräfe bitterly noted. He called the selection of Zwayer the “pinnacle of degradation”, while recalling the scandal involving former referee Robert Hoyzer. According to court records, Zwayer also received money like Hoyzer, although he later denied these allegations.

Gräfe also expressed dissatisfaction with Siebert’s selection, pointing out his poor performances in international matches. He believes that the German Football Association has “missed an opportunity and even hindered” other promising young referees like Sven Jablonski from reaching the international stage sooner.

Besides Siebert and Zwayer, 6 other German referees were also called up for Euro 2024. However, Gräfe still believes the selection process lacks transparency and fairness, contradicting the principles of healthy competition that are much-needed in sports.

Will Gräfe’s criticism impact the final decision? That remains a big question. But certainly, the absence of a talented referee like him will be a regrettable loss for the most exciting tournament in Europe next summer.

UEFA Euro 1960 to 2021 with 16 championships and 10 winning countries

Germany won the Euro 3 times (1972 – 1980 – 1996)

Spain won the Euro 3 times (1964 – 2008 – 2012)

France won the Euro 2 times (1984 – 2000)

Italy won the Euro 2 times (1968 – 2020)

Soviet Union won the Euro once in 1960

Czechoslovakia won the Euro once in 1976

Netherlands won the Euro once in 1988

Denmark won the Euro once in 1992

Greece won the Euro once in 2004

Portugal won the Euro once in 2016

With the participation of the strongest European teams according to the FIFA ranking on 15/02/2024 such as France (2) – England (3) – Belgium (4) – Netherlands (6) – Portugal (7) – Spain (8) – Italy (9) – Croatia (10) and bright stars like Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappé, Harry Kane, Romelu Lukaku to promising young talents, Euro 2024 promises to bring top-tier and dramatic matches.

EURO 2024 will take place in Germany from 14/6 to 14/7/2024 in 10 cities in Germany with 24 participating teams. The teams are divided into 6 groups to select the top 12 teams, and the second teams in the groups, and the 4 best third-placed teams to get a ticket to the knock-out round. The opening match will be held on 14/6 between host Germany and Scotland.

Detailed EURO 2024 groups:

Group A: Germany, Scotland, Hungary, Switzerland

Group B: Spain, Croatia, Italy, Albania

Group C: England, Denmark, Serbia, Slovenia

Group D: Poland, France, Netherlands, Austria

Group E: Slovakia, Romania, Belgium, Ukraine

Group F: Portugal, Turkey, Czech Republic, Georgia

(Visited 38 times, 1 visits today)

About The Author

Related Post


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *